School of Medicine Alumni Relations
Register for CME View Photo Gallery Request Official Records Tap Into Library Resources

Rio Grande Valley Chapter

The Rio Grande Valley Alumni Chapter is designed to provide you with the following benefits:

  • An “on-the-ground” network for professional referrals and personal friendships.
  • Local programs and events that promote professional development, social connections, and community service.
  • Local resources to facilitate two-way communications between local alumni, the School of Medicine, and the Alumni Association.
  •  

Chapter Events

The RGV Alumni Chapter will host its next event on Saturday, February 23 at the Edinburg Conference Center at Renaissance. The event will feature breakfast at 8:30 a.m. followed by the Dr. Mario E. Ramirez Endowed Lecture for CME credit along with an Ethics CME presentation.

To view photos from 2012 RGV Alumni Chapter Barbecue at the RAHC on July 14, 2012, click here.

To view photos from the RGV Alumni Chapter event at the McAllen Country Club on February 25, 2012, click here.

For more information on all Alumni Association events, click here.

Other Ways to Get Involved

In addition to attending social events, there are other opportunities for you to get involved, including:

  • Welcoming new alumni to the area.
  • Mentoring medical students, pre-med students, and high school students.
  • Allowing college pre-meds to shadow you in your clinics.
  • Speaking at events for local high school students.

If you are interested in participating in Rio Grande Valley Alumni Chapter activities, please e-mail the Alumni Association at medalumni@uthscsa.edu. We look forward to seeing you at an upcoming RGV Chapter event.

RGV Alumni News


RGVision Magazine recently featured Dr. Nolan Perez '98 and a new mentoring program he founded to help high school students learn from experienced professionals in the community. To read the article, click here.

 

 

RGV Alumni Chapter Officers and Steering Committee Members

The 2011 RGV Alumni Chapter steering committee consists of 16 members representing Starr, Hidalgo, Willacy, and Cameron counties.

 

Brownsville, TX
Juan Mancillas ’84

dr.jmancillas@yahoo.com

 

Edinburg, TX
Alberto Pena ’02 (Vice Chair)

albertopenamd@yahoo.com

Harlingen, TX
Henry Benavides ’84

Tsion33@aol.com
Maria Dill ’86 (Secretary)

maria.dill@dshs.state.tx.us
Dora A. Martinez '07

dora_martinezmd@yahoo.com
David Moron ’84

david.moron@dshs.state.tx.us
Brian O’Donnell ’99

bodonnell@rgv.rr.com

John Partin ’99

John.partin@dshs.state.tx.us

Nolan Perez ’98

Nolan@perezgastro.com

Rolando Posada '96

rposadamd@fhsmain.com

La Joya
Javier Saenz '82
jsaenz1643@aol.com

McAllen, TX

Alejandro Fuentes ’85

afuentesmd@aol.com

Jennifer M. Almonte-Gonzalez ’04

jalmontegonzalez@gmail.com
Bertha Medina ’83

mmedina4@aol.com

Sam Ramirez ’97

dsramirezjr@hotmail.com

 

Rio Grande City, TX
Rolando Guerrero ’97

blgmusic@earthlink.net

San Benito, TX
Maria de Jesus Munoz ’05

Munozm2@uthscsa.edu

Back to Top