Medical Faculty Assembly

Diversity Committee


CHAIR:  Dr. Janet F. Williams, M.D., FAAP


MEMBERS (voting)


Term Expires August 31, 2012
Bailey, Brigitte, M.D. Assoc. Prof./Clinical Psychiatry baileyb@uthscsa.edu
Cornejo, Cynthia G. PA-C Physician Assistant NRLC cornejo@uthscsa.edu
Esterl, Robert, M.D. Professor Transplant esterl@uthscsa.edu
Marez, Sylvia Staff Surgery marezs@uthscsa.edu
Owens, Williams Anthony, MS Sr. Research Assoc. Pathology owensw@uthscsa.edu
Ye, Yanping, M.D. Asst. Professor/Clinical FCM YeY@uthscsa.edu
Osadebe, Shirley Student MS3 osadebeu@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Rodriguez, Emma, M.D. Resident OB/Gyn rodrigueze7@uthscsa.edu
Stanley, Jay M., M.D. Resident Orthopedics stanleyj@uthscsa.edu
Tekmal, Rajeshwar Rao, Ph.D Professor OB/Gyn Tekmal@uthscsa.edu
Yang, Yiting MSIV Student   yangy4@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Term Expires August 31, 2013
Abid, Humaira, M.D. Resident FCM abid@uthscsa.edu
Ahmed, Hinan, M.D. Asst. Professor/Clinical Medicine ahmedh@uthscsa.edu
Hartman, Brandon, M.H.S.A A&P FCM/Urology hartmanbl@uthscsa.edu
Hickey, Rosemary, M.D. Professor Anesthesiology hickey@uthscsa.edu
Jardeleza, Maria S.R., M.D. Asst. Professor/Clinical Ophthalmology Jardeleza@uthscsa.edu
Patel, Neela K., M.D. MPH Assistant Professor FCM PatelN4@@uthscsa.edu
Patzek, Sophie Student MSII patzek@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Ross, Tracy Rene Marketing Specialist SOM Dean's Office RossTR@uthscsa.edu
Stathakis, Sotirios, PhD. Asst. Professor Rad/Onc stathakis@uthscsa.edu
       
Term Expires August 31, 2014
Alloju, Les MSII Student   Alloju@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Bazaldua, Oralia V., Pharm.D. Associate Professor FCM bazaldua@uthscsa.edu
Duggan, Sandra Naomi, MA Assistant Director AHEC duggan@uthscsa.edu
Gonzalez, Belinda C., Director of Admissions SOM Dean's Office chapab@uthscsa.edu
Jackson, Gabrielle MSII Student jacksongc@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Kist, Kenneth, M.D. Asst. Professor Radiology kist@uthscsa.edu
Knowles Dickson, Forrestine MSII Student dicksonf@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Mgbemena, Victoria Graduate Student Mic/Immunology Mgbemena@uthscsa.edu
Moreland, Christopher, M.D., MPH Asst. Professor Medicine morelandC3@uthscsa.edu
Mustafa, Shamimunisa B., PhD. Assoc. Professor Pediatrics mustafa@uthscsa.edu
Okoronkwo, Serena Michelle MSII Student okoronkwo@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Rezaie, Salim R., M.D. Asst. Professor/Clinical rezaie@uthscsa.edu
Robles, Julianna, M.D. Resident Pediatrics roblesj4@uthscsa.edu
       
Term Expires August 31, 2015
Brown, Alan, M.D. PGY-1 Pathology browna6@uthscsa.edu
       
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS (non-voting)
Blankmeyer, Bonnie, Ph.D. Prof./Clinical Psychiatry/EO/AA         blankmeyer@uthscsa.edu
Clare, Nanette, M.D. Professor Dean's Office clare@uthscsa.edu
Jones, David, Ph.D. Professor Dean's Office jonesd@uthscsa.edu
Kobbe, Heather A., SPHR HR Generalist Lead Human Resources kobbe@uthscsa.edu

Meets:  Once monthly, to be determined


Terms of Appointment:Members are appointed to a term of three years on a staggered schedule with one-third of the committee completing their term of service annually. In situations where deemed necessary for efficient committee functioning, the Medical Dean may extend or shorten the period of service by any committee member. The Associate Dean for Faculty and Diversity serves as Chair.


Membership: Faculty members, staff, house staff and students are appointed by the Dean after consideration of interest survey responses and Medical Faculty Assembly Executive Committee recommendations.


Charge: To advise and assist the Associate Dean for Faculty and Diversity in developing, updating and supporting policies and programs that advance diversity and inclusion related to the School of Medicine faculty, staff, students and other trainees, and in particular, regarding recruitment, hiring, retention and promotion. The Diversity Committee will be responsible for interacting with and have representation within all other standing committees. This Committee reports through the Associate Dean for Faculty and Diversity to the Medical Dean and the Medical Faculty Assembly.