University: Home | Calendar | Maps

Office of Undergraduate Medical Education

LCME Institutional Self Study

Self-Study Overview (click image to enlarge)


image_self study process


Select a tab to learn more about each component:


The DCI Task Force is charged with populating the Data Collection Instrument (DCI) to document all aspects of the educational program leading to the MD degree, including elements and standards organized to flow from the level of the institution to the level of the student.


The DCI includes questions related to 12 LCME accreditation standards:

  • Standard 1 (mission, planning, organization, and integrity)
  • Standard 2 (leadership and administration)
  • Standard 3 (academic and learning environments)
  • Standard 4 (faculty preparation, productivity, participation, and policies)
  • Standard 5 (educational resources and infrastructure)
  • Standard 6 (competencies, curricular objectives, and curricular design)
  • Standard 7 (curricular content)
  • Standard 8 (curricular management, evaluation, and enhancement)
  • Standard 9 (teaching, supervision, assessment, and student and patient safety)
  • Standard 10 (medical student selection, assignment, and progress)
  • Standard 11 (medical student academic support, career advising, and educational records)
  • Standard 12 (medical student health services, personal counseling, and financial aid services)

LCME Data Collection Instrument (DCI) template (pdf)

The Independent Student Analysis (ISA) is a critical component of the self-study process. At the same time that the school initiates its self-study process, the student ISA team will begin an independent review of relevant topic areas, including such things as the medical education program, student services, the learning environment, and the adequacy of educational resources. The student analysis is synthesized into a report that includes analysis of results of a student opinion questionnaire and interpretation of the findings.

The self-study task force is charged with executing the institutional self evaluation process. Subcommittees will be formed to review and analyze information in the DCI associated with the elements in each of the 12 accreditation standards. Each self-study committee will complete an analyses of an assigned area and prepare reports of their findings. The individual subcommittee findings and conclusions will then be synthesized by the self-study task force into a final, comprehensive self-study summary report that both identifies the strengths and accomplishments of the program, while also addressing current challenges. Based on the findings in the self-study report, the task force will then develop action plans to address needed areas of improvement.