University: Home | Calendar | Maps

Office of Undergraduate Medical Education

LCME Institutional Self-Study

Self-Study Task Force (SSTF)


The SSTF is a broad representation of stakeholders in the Long School of Medicine and UT Health San Antonio. The task force is responsible for overseeing the self-study subcommittee process and preparing the final self-study summary report in collaboration with the Faculty Accreditation Lead (FAL).




  • Engage subcommittee members in a process of active and open evaluation of an assigned LCME standard;
  • Produce a subcommittee summary report addressing programmatic strengths and challenges in the context of the accreditation standard with recommendations to address identified areas of attention;
  • Collaborate with fellow task force members to develop a final Self-Study Report for submission to the LCME;
  • Participate in LCME Kick-Off Event, mock site visits and the site visit in January 2019.


Self-Study Task Force Member Subcommittee Chair

Jacqueline Mok, PhD
Vice President for Academic, Faculty & Student Affairs, UT Health San Antonio

Standard 1:  Mission, Planning, Organization and Integrity & Standard 2:  Leadership & Administration

>Charge & Membership

Jennifer Potter, PhD, MPH
Associate Dean for Research
Associate Professor, Psychiatry

Standard 3:  Academic & Learning Environments

>Charge & Membership

Luci Leykum, MD
Division Chief, General & Hospital Medicine
Professor, Medicine

Standard 4:  Faculty Preparation, Productivity, Participation, and Policies

>Charge & Membership

Robert Esterl, MD
Associate Dean for UME
Professor, Medicine

Standard 5:  Educational Resources and Infrastructure

>Charge & Membership

Barbara Taylor, MD
Assistant Dean, MD/MPH program
Associate Professor, Medicine

Standard 6:  Competencies, Curricular Objectives and Curricular Design

>Charge & Membership

Thomas King, PhD
CIRCLE Curriculume Module Co-Director & Histology Disclipline Coordinator
Associate Professor, Cell Systems & Anatomy

Standard 7:  Curricular Content

>Charge & Membership

Amanda Allen, EdD
Director, Curriculum Evaluation, UME

Standard 8:  Curricular Management, Evaluation and Enhancement

>Charge & Membership

Jean Petershack, MD
Director, Medical Student Pediatric Education
Professor, Pediatrics

Standard 9:  Teaching, Supervision, Assessment, and Student and Patient Safety

>Charge & Membership

Michelle Arandes, MD
Vice Chair & Program Director of Pediatric Residency Program
Professor, Pediatrics

Standard 10:  Medical Student Selection, Assignment, and Progress

>Charge & Membership

Omid Rahimi, PhD
CIRCLE Curriculum, Assistant Course Director of Medical Gross Anatomy & Embryology

Associate Professor, Cell Systems & Anatomy

Standard 11:  Medical Student Academic Support, Career Advising, and Educational Records

>Charge & Membership

Thomas Matthews, MD
Associate Program Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Residency Program

Professor, Psychiatry

Standard 12:  Medical Student Health Services, Personal Counseling and Financial Aid Services

>Charge & Membership

Florence "Flossy" Eddins-Folensbee, MD
Vice Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
Professor, Psychiatry
Faculty Accreditation Lead (FAL)
Ex Officio Member

Deborah Conway, MD
Associate Dean for Curriculum
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Additional Faculty Accreditation Lead (AFAL)
Ex Officio Member