University: Home | Calendar | Maps

LSOM Research Day 2019

A poster day for medical students, residents, fellows, postdocs, and faculty!


To register, please visit

To register to attend the event (not as a presenter) please visit

*please use a browser other than Internet Explorer to complete your registration



Passport Poster Day
Basic & Clinical Research, Quality
Improvement, and Patient Safety
April 10, 2018


Passport 2018 Poster
Day Distinguished Speaker

Luci Leykum, MD, MBA, MSc, FACP, SFHM

Chief, Division of General & Hospital Medicine, UT Health Science Center at San Antonio

Investigator, South Texas Veterans
Health Care System


Poster Session Awards

Medical students, residents, and fellows were invited to submit original, first author work under one of the following categories: research or quality improvement/patient safety. More than 120 applications were submitted and 109 were ultimately accepted for presentation.Congratulations to the following winners:

Pictured left to right 1st row: Dr. Ron Rodriguez, Marlene Garcia, Aimee Robinson, Kyle Fisk, Chaoying Qin, Dr. Jennifer Sharpe Potter, Dr. Kenyatta Lee. 2nd row: Dr. Robert Nolan, Stephanie Mattathil, Carlos J. Sanchez, Molly Jenner, Daniel R. Chang. 3rd row: John Vizuete, Karthik Garapati. Absent: Jacob Venesky


Medical Students


Dean’s Award: Molly Jenner
1st: Daniel R. Chang
2nd Place: Aimee Robinson
3rd Place: Kyle Fisk
Honorable Mention: Carlos J. Sanchez


Dean’s Award: John Vizuete
1st Place: Karthik Garapati
2nd Place: Stephanie Mattathil
3rd Place (tie): Marlene Garcia
3rd Place (tie): Jacob Venesky


Xiangya School of Medicine

Grand Prize Winner: Chaoying Qin  


Distinguished Speaker Presentation
and Awards Ceremony:



In support of Passport 2017, the School of Medicine Alumni Association has underwritten cash awards to honor outstanding posters as first, second and third place winners, as well as an honorable mention winner in two presenter divisions: medical students and residents/fellows. The first place winner in the medical student category is given in the name of Dean James J. Young, MD. Dr. Young served as Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio from 1989 to 2000.

The grand prize cash award presented to the winning poster from the Xiangya School of Medicine Visiting Students is provided by Dr. Paolo Casali on behalf of the Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics. The Medical Dean’s Award is awarded for the posters that best embodies the education, research, and clinical missions of the Long School of Medicine.

Additional sources of support include Long School of Medicine Office of the Dean, Dr. Guangming Zhong, our Faculty Research Mentors, and the volunteer faculty judges that helped make the day a success.


This event is co-sponsored by the School of Medicine Dean’s
Office and the Office of Graduate Medical Education


Please direct any questions to or 210-450-8392.